Poets logo

My color is Copper

Black is not a skin color.

By Derrick Anthony StrongPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1
My skin is copper

So I'm not black , no , more like copper brown same color as where you plant seeds in the ground , no I'm not dirt, I'm earth , indigenous from birth my life worth is much more than the feeling of hurt, see the pain of be called black is just that, darkness in they mind, evil perceptions make them act, against our color , brown sugar to butter, no justice worldwide for millions of melanated sisters and brothers. Be proud of the skin you in, let your beauty be grand, all skin is the same when you in need of hand. Be proud of the skin you in, let your beauty be grand, all skin is the same when you in need of hand.

Uniquely being me, copper wire shine automatically, generate electric positivity, my mind frame shocking, my arts leave no room for blocking, protect the innocent while they still watching. My color can't hide behind my mask, I dash before I end up exposing my prestige, I do whatever the commun needs, then I proceed to leave , back in the wind. Never to be seen again. Be proud of the skin you in, let you beauty be grand, all skin is the same when you in need of hand. Be proud of the skin you in, let your beauty be grand, just know color don't matter whenever you need a hand.



inspirational
1

About the Creator

Derrick Anthony Strong

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.