Poets logo

My Childhood Home

Sweet Memories

By Paul DouglasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
24
My Childhood Home
Photo by vu anh on Unsplash

The scent of fresh flowers

Upon the summer breeze

Carry's me back to my childhood home

Turning back the years

***

My mother tending her prized garden

Through spring, summer, and fall

Keeping a loving home

Spreading joy to all

***

The smell of furniture polish

The shine on our coffee table

Reflecting the smiles, we always wore

Whenever she was around

***

As I walk through my childhood home

Silent and empty throughout

The sweet memories of years gone by

Accompany me as I think about

***

Our Christmas tree bedecked with lights

My family gathered around the dining table

Being tucked into bed each night

My mother reading Aesop's Fables

***

The house built from solid oak

Blending in the forest grove

The gurgle of a stream nearby

Overflown by peaceful doves

***

This house of love and life

Forever home in my memory

With my mother's caring touch

And loving empathy

***

It stands empty since the day she left

On her final journey home

Her absence leaving this place

Forever monochrome

***

No more memories made

With my sweet mother gone

The energy of a happy home

Forever stifled

***

And so, I close the door and walk away

From a house, no longer a home

No more a place where love and laughter dwell

But merely a bereft empty shell

sad poetry
24

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.