Poets logo

My Childhood

A Lost Poem...

By Abby RamsayPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I remember my childhood in school years and grades.

My memory is text, and numbers, and words, and a slowly ticking clock I could not read because in public school that time was ticking, and we had a schedule, a curriculum to follow.

My childhood was struggling through math.

The numbers like flies buzzing in all directions, threatening to drive me insane, conjuring up tears in my tired eyes.

My dress-up time was being told as a third grader that my favorite skirt was too short, and having to watch the prisoners file back into the cell from the classroom window.

My one relief was the change of season at the end of every year, that seemed like freedom from one long time out for some action that I was ignorant of.

The warm spring air like a deep breath after almost drowning, knowing there was still a chance of survival.

The idea, the hope, that this "childhood" would soon be over.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Abby Ramsay

Actress, model, activist, femenist, asexuality and mental illness advocate, and dog mom. Abby grew up in Pennsylvania before moving to LA to get her BFA in acting.

Instagram @abbysworldsastage

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.