Poets logo

My Chapters

Life's A Book

By Ruben GonzalesPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Enjoy The Journey

Im not a rapper, but listen as I write this story//

It holds chapters covered in rust with holes punched through, call it glory//

And with each turn the page tares and with it, the ink smears//

underlined in blood sweat and tears is the worry a kid left as he read their//

broken spine from falling tho still holding together//

Each written letter is a memory for another to be lead their//

He isnt composed tho, walks with strides for he knows, not to let the pain show from inside//

Theirs scars from battle, carried with pride//

tho wounds only fade from strangers for its family this time//

Like oil mixed with water, soon it separates//

Cant be blended so a room filled with jealousy cant operate//

And its the pain of my worst enemy that sheds tears tho, gives me a grin//

I can barely walk tho Im compared to a kid//

Tho god hands his toughest battles to those who dont flinch//

So if this is me then you the bird that hasn't left your nest yet//

I got burns on my flesh, hidden beneath//

like the metal that gouged out pieces of meat in my knee// 

Almost had to cut it off//

like those who did this to me//

Am I a millennial for wanting to see this vision in me//

Capturing the essence through camera lenses for I loose faith that I might make it another day//

So I create poetic art like this so they say I left a art form this way//

or is it an indecency for a man to show his emotions this way//

pour my heart into a pen while creating scenes like a film maker through haymakers//

In absence of strength my stories jump off pages and into your face//

So that I may fall upon your palms and be carried this way//

I need a cane just to take two steps, but Im a provider//

I cant begin to sit for rest//

Behind glass its an hour, I cant depend on stress//

In the silence I build my empire//

It motivates tho deteriorates my mind as if Im a heap of mess//

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ruben Gonzales

I write for poetry, for life, to take one's understanding so much deeper then that they know of. I tell the stories with a meaning thats beyond with a feeling that will pull you in.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.