Poets logo

My Boots

It’s the memories they hold, the stories they can tell. Took me to new places got me out of my shell.

By Katlyn CampbellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Photograph by Katlyn Campbell

It’s the memories they hold, the stories they can tell.

Took me to new places got me out of my shell.

Took ahold of my fears and made them dispel.

Been with me on a journey until I arrived back at my doorbell.

So here are my old memories, in a nutshell.

My boots…

Hiked a mountain in Scotland with five others, feeling as little as a cell.

Went to a German sweet shop with chocolate, vanilla, and caramel.

Wondered through Dutch gardens with tulips pretty as pastel.

Admired a Spanish church, with stained glass the color of a bluebell.

Swished through a field of French lavender, oh what a wonderful smell!

Stood under London lights of silver and gold, celebrating noel.

They took me to places so picturesque it made my heart swell.

They’ve been with me when I felt homesick and a little unwell.

The times when I’ve had to say goodbye and farewell.

Now they’re on a shelf, for stories I retell.

Although a bit tattered, they are still just as belle.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Katlyn Campbell

Traveler. Teacher. Poet. Writer. Photographer.

Inspired by the places I've called home 🇺🇸🇮🇪🇰🇷🇬🇧🇮🇹🇫🇷

IG: @katlyn.campbell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.