Poets logo

My Body is a Monument

By Erica Williams

By Erica WilliamsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

his violence is a red thing punching

marks onto the text

of my body - a bruise

burgundy blooms against the gentle cage

my ribs make. my nose breaks

i swallow my own insides. veinstuff tastes

of metal. rust

the colour of blood when mixed

with water

i wash it from my face

crimson stark against the porcelain

i think

my body is a crime scene

i scrub at the bruise to dissolve it

like water is a solvent

like my burgundy skin is just

painted on

my body is a foreign body lodged in my throat

i cough myself into the sink and i mix me with blood and i flood me with water

his violence is a blood red thing

redacting me from the text

of my own

body

i look in the mirror and realise i’m inside it

i look out through the glass at that tired flesh thing

of myself

i feel responsible

like my body already held in its cells a blueprint:

the story of fists colliding with the softness of my own

selfhood

my body is my fault

i am the fault of my body

i try to replace the violence with violence

my arms are etched with scars of my own

making

purple pink white lines

i open myself up

to let myself out

making sense of memories flushed with red

bruised ribs

blood noses

a body that knows threat like an old friend

a body wound tightly around the possibility

of danger

then

i find a yellow dress

dense cotton oozing yolky joy

it feels artefactual

a thing before violence was written on my body

i climb out of the mirror

douse myself in yellow

smell flowers til i’m dizzy

pollenated

i touch the scars on my arms

read them like braille with the tips of my fingers

find the shapes of my own

survival

i write myself back into the story of my body

i pat rouge into the softness of my cheeks

treat my scars like they are fontanelles – soft spots

delicate and careful

i am the opposite of violence

i grow lillies in the holes it left behind

i stretch my body long when i go swimming in the cold

bluelipped, red blooded creature

a thing that lived

and i wear a yellow dress

diaphanous – buoyed by the wind and my own

gentle

bravery

my body was a crime scene

red tape and redactions

now it is a monument draped in yellow

i pray to her for the salve forgiveness

i mix it with warm milk

and i feed it to myself

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Erica Williams

A writery human from Melbourne with a penchant for self indulgent memoir, sad girl poetry, and sometimes the odd bit of off-kilter fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.