Poets logo

My Blue Striped Dress

Poem: about growing past something with meaning

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
My Blue Striped Dress
Photo by Tamara Bellis on Unsplash

I was shuffling through my closet for a date,

When I stumbled back upon you,

You are coated with history,

Memories binded down the seams,

You have always shaped my body in a sweet manner,

Canvasing my chest in flirtatious modesty,

Fitting me like you were meant to be,

Every time I wear you, it is with meaning,

Special memories reserved in the buttons attached,

Each stripe interlocks a feeling of the times I wore you,

The excitement enclosed from the time my first love visited my hometown,

To going out to lunch with my grandma,

The nights where I danced under the stars with my speakers on blast,

The day I lost my best friend,

all tucked away, in the lives of who I was, who I am, in you,

The texture of you on my skin, is comforting, secure, safe

Instant confidence because I know how you fit,

I know how I feel in you, or have felt,

But those moments that have defined my life, no longer define me,

you fit me how I have seen before,

But I am no longer the same body you have seen,

I have been shaped by those times,

And have grown beyond what you have meant,

I have a hard time facing you not being there,

my safety net dress, ready for any occasion,

but you have given me so much,

the confidence and meaning between the threads of my life,

And I wish I had more life to give you,

But there comes a day,

Where we all grow out of our favorite blue striped dress,

But despite it all,

I leave you there on a hanger,

Because my feelings about me in you still lingers,

and for me, I know you, it's probably time,

But I am still not ready to let you go.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.