Poets logo

My Blue Ghost

How Social Culture Has Shaped Me

By Ewa RitchiePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Blue Ghost
Photo by Ashkan Forouzani on Unsplash

I watched the world on a little box;

Square, bright, static and blue.

A friend in the rain, a friend in the dark;

Too much to learn and to fast to absorb.

It gave me an opinion and a voice;

A favoured blue tint follows me like a ghost.

It inspired my style, my outlook and my mood;

Grown from the hazy ghost of the little grey box.

Blue is now the colour I am, mine not yours;

Highlighted in the woman standing that you see.

We cried together, we howled with laughter;

The little box that watched the quiet girl grow.

Now a woman with a permanent blue ghost.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Ewa Ritchie

A Canadian in Scotland with stories to tell ..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.