Poets logo

My Belly Is Full

Comfort

By Claire IbarraPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

My belly is full with the things I love:

clean, cool water on a hot day–

flowing through pipes into children’s cups.

My belly is full with chocolate kisses dipped in peanut butter,

extra creamy brie, and music

by Nina Simone and Al Green.

I am full with women’s marches, daily actions, and a clear horizon free of smog.

I am full with street tacos and tequila with lime, dancing salsa in a club–

with his hands buried in my pockets as our hips sway.

I am full with #resistance and poetry,

freedom of speech and truth and justice.

Kindness through action and words.

I am full with cash in my purse, you know, money to spend!

I am full with all the decisions that got me here, standing next to you–

child, woman, warrior, and friend.

I am full.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Claire Ibarra

Claire is the author of Fragile Saints, a novel published by Adelaide Books in 2021. Claire’s poetry chapbook Vortex of Our Affections was published by Finishing Line Press in 2017.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.