Poets logo

my beach ball

no longer hide underwater

By poetryinwaitingPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
my beach ball
Photo by Raphaël Biscaldi on Unsplash

i never thought the thoughts were untrue

until i realized it didn't all add up

i had a hunch it wasn't right

but it took some time before that meant something

the thoughts quickly became a comfort

i never thought there was a problem

i assumed everyone else just thought the same

i assumed that there wasn't any problem

not if i kept things secure and safe

the lies not only took away from the truth

and took away from the person i was made to be

i thought it didn't matter much

but the truth, the truth kept coming back

like a beach ball pushed deep down underwater

there was only so much i could do to hide it

the truth of my passion kept popping back up into sight

that i was made to follow the dreams i was given

and no longer hide underwater

inspirational
1

About the Creator

poetryinwaiting

I love all things writing...though I am particularly biased towards good, vulnerable poetry. I love pouring my heart on a page with every piece I write. Life is for expressing, not containing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.