Poets logo

My Answer

For Those of You Who Sometimes Want to Run Away

By Emily CummingsPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
4
My Answer
Photo by Harsh Gupta on Unsplash

closer, now,

let me tell you a secret.

because I know you’ve always wanted

answers

to break

to heal

someone to belong to

to call it one night,

and just drive away.

I know you keep a first aid kit

and a toothbrush

in the glove compartment of your car,

fragments of your escape plan.

but come closer now,

let me tell you a secret,

because I’m pretty sure you think you could disappear,

rename yourself Cassandra at the border

and fade from the memory of this place.

you think if you left home

maybe you’d finally understand it.

maybe you’d finally understand yourself,

because I’m pretty sure you think the harder you look

the faster the fog settles in.

and you think you’ll find the answer in your dreams

or submerged under an icy mountain stream

or standing on a bridge in a city of strangers.

you think you’ll find that answer

that you swear exists, that will make all of this go away.

all of this.

but closer,

let me tell you a secret:

I don’t know that answer either,

but I am here anyway, carrying on.

Mental Healthsad poetryinspirationalFriendshipFree Verse
4

About the Creator

Emily Cummings

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Yes, running away seems like an answer, but is it? Liked this, Emily. Liked the conspiratorial tone to it.

  • Test2 months ago

    Great read

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.