Poets logo

My Angel

Love at First Sight

By Cleve Taylor Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Angel
Photo by Ani Kolleshi on Unsplash

My Angel

By Cleve Taylor

Confusion, my whole body infused with dull pain

My eyes open, first in a cloud, but now beginning to clear

I recognize nothing but know I am tethered to a bed

I am immobilized with tubes and restraints

and aware that death looms near

*

A vision materializes, an angel, a face showing concern

Can you hear me she asks, I respond with a groan

She says hang in there fellow you were in a car wreck

But I'll stay with you, I'll not leave you alone

*

She leaned over me, a smile from perfect lips

Tossed back her hair with a shake of head

And placed her warm soft hand on my brow

And I fell in love, in that instant, in that bed

*

At my funeral I looked for her, looked to see her again

But she was not in that meager group that attended today

She was in uniform at her hospital holding the hand

Of another patient who would love her this day

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cleve Taylor

Published author of three books: Ricky Pardue US Marshal, A Collection of Cleve's Short Stories and Poems, and Johnny Duwell and the Silver Coins, all available in paperback and e-books on Amazon. Over 160 Vocal.media stories and poems.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.