Poets logo

Music to Kill Yourself to on a Bright Sunny Day

#VocalNPM

By Jason GiecekPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Barry Weatherall on Unsplash

April 21st, 2019—Still Alive

Still here, I guess, still alive, I woke up today, went outside, stretched.

I took a deep breath in.

I broke down and cried.

I don't know why.

I went back inside, the world didn't need to see me cry.

I decided to write in my journal, a letter, to you, dear Doctor Morgan, my friend, my therapist, my enemy.

I love you.

I hate you.

You took away my pain, gave me new ones, things to beat myself up about, to realize that life is such a stranger place sober.

Where was I, in my last letter to you?

Was I drinking again?

Was I taking my medication in a timely manner?

Did I attempt to kill myself one more time?

I may have just been sitting here, since that last letter, watching the world go by.

Who knows.

Who cares.

Am I right?

Did I tell you about my childhood?

I can't remember.

Let us continue.

The Poem from Volume Insanity—Level Two: Drowning the Demons

Photo by Cristian Newman on Unsplash

Pretty pictures,

Painted in blood,

Deep inside my mind,

A memory,

Deep dark reds.

I am drinking again,

The same old spots,

The underpass,

The dying inside,

Losing all of my friends,

To just time,

To just suicide,

To just life,

The world is exploding outside,

I dream of angels,

But live with demons,

Dying tonight,

Life is harder,

The stress is,

Killing me,

Inside.

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

Addiction,

A subtle pain,

To relieve,

To hide it,

Deep inside,

Worn out,

Lie down,

On this side,

To sleep,

To perchance,

To not awake,

Again, the pains,

Hidden,

Deep inside,

Dying,

Losing all of my prayers,

To that demon,

To try to hide,

Inside my mind,

Replied,

To that memory,

To try and rip it from my mind.

Photo by Aarón Blanco Tejedor on Unsplash

To hear the world,

To see the voices crawling through the mire,

To taste,

The bile,

Building from the bottom,

Of me,

To realize,

It’s all a lie.

Photo by Lauren York on Unsplash

Good night,

Good night,

Goodbye,

Oh, sweet misery,

To dream,

To sleep,

To awake,

Alive?

It could all be a dream,

It could all be a lie,

Good night,

Sweet dreams,

Good night...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jason Giecek

A poet who cannot rhyme, a dreamer who dreams in reality, realist who gave up realism last week as part of his plea agreement. The courts got nothing!! Nothing!

I'm on Twitter --- https://twitter.com/MisterDonkeyKon FOLLOW ME!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.