Poets logo

Music - The Key To Inner Peace

A Response to a V+A Facebook Group Challenge

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
7
Taken from Unsplash, edited in NightCafe

When I sit back and close my eyes, and give off gentle little sighs

Without fail everything single day, all I hear is music playing away

Well...apart from the clatter and sound of constant chatter

Whether it's a solid bassline and beat or a harmonious treat

My head is still so full, as a war rages on to see who will rule

If I had synaesthesia I dread to think, I'd see a collage of musicians and arguing heads on the brink

*

Glossolalia with a four-on-the-floor backbeat, random snapshots of my worst mistakes, misfires, and random thoughts with a funky beat

Ataraxia is what I wish for more than anything, serenity with a nice chilled soundscape and gentle pick of the G-string

*

The Stones, Radiohead, and Marley are Jammin', while three different voices are poetry slammin'

There is my inner critic, imposter, and my ego, all trying to whip me like they're devo

Lionel Richie's dancing on the ceiling, while Marvin Gaye needs some sexual healing

The voices in my head are starting to riot, I need to play something loud, for peace and quiet

Maybe something heavy and aggressive, or maybe something transgressive and progressive

The continuous battering of my character, the sound of a budgerigar acting like a disparager

*

Oh how I want to drown them out with the booming sound of a bombastic breakbeat

Oh how I want to silence them with the thumping pound of a double-kick blast beat

*

Pavement and Beck are a mirth-filled delight, while Kylie and Beyonce dance into the night

Still, the ego, the imposter, and the critic argue, it doesn't matter whether or not I pay my due

Converge and The Prodigy burst an eardrum, as the Beasties and De La make me wanna shake my bum

The evil three continue fighting over my soul, and their war waging starts to take its toll

Then I hit play and I’m sitting on the dock of the bay, As ramble on starts to play, I know I’ll be okay

The sound of those disquieting thoughts and opinions are slowly fading out as the three head back to their own dominions

*

Thanks for reading. This is my response to a challenge posted on the Vocal+ Assist Facebook group for a piece that has something to do with music.

I wanted to show how music helps to quieten the different (figurative) voices in my head.

Hope you enjoyed it. If you did, please click the heart, drop a comment or do both!

You may also like these other pieces:

You can also check out the rest of my work here.

slam poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetryinspirationalfact or fiction
7

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    What great fun!! Shaking your bum? Loved that you did this with rhyming. I want to go jam out now!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.