Poets logo

Mushroom Mami

Part one of a series inspired by edgewalking between life and death

By Ashley AntunesPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
20

I am a mushroom mami

I bloom in dark and damp places.

Places that

most of us avoid.

I thrive where things decay

Mouring losses where hope once laid

I hold space

for sadness

for rage

you know those emotional states

that most of us avoid because were too afraid

I absorb the dark, I don't need your light

I create my own glow

bioluminescence fabricated by my own raw essence

A glow that can only be appreciated where the suns rays cannot reach

Who knew

the darkness had so much wisdome to teach

That wisdom

is called grief

I am a mushroom mami

I consume death

and transform it into life

over and over again

Me and that cycle have become

very good friends.

I am not human

I am not plant

I am not animal

I am none and all of the above all at once

I am somewhere in that liminal

space

Somewhere between earth and the spiritual

I am mushroom mami

My gift is transmutation

My flesh is medicine

I am anti inflammation

Allow me to soothe your pain

I got that medication

But be mindful on how you use me

Because my pores also seep poison

Handle with care

Handle with caution, lethal dosage

Life and death, that's that in between where a soul emerges

nature poetryStream of Consciousnessperformance poetryinspirationalart
20

About the Creator

Ashley Antunes

Hey there, welcome to my head space. My special skill is alchemizing pain into power.

I write short stories about real life events, reflections that inspire, and poems.

If you want to support my art, tips are welcomed.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 26 days ago

    Newly subscribed; your title caught me! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Anna 27 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Mariann Carroll27 days ago

    Congratulations, Well Deserve ❤️I did not know mushroom is good for inflammation! I subscribe

  • Hayley Matto29 days ago

    Congrats on TS, this was such a fun and empowering read! 💚 One of my fav lines, "bioluminescence fabricated by my own raw essence". Lovely rhyme and such a strong statement, inspiring me to tap into some of my own energy.

  • Lamar Wiggins29 days ago

    So many lines to contemplate. I really loved this one: 'I absorb the dark, I don't need your light I create my own glow' Great stuff! And congrats on your TS!

  • Congratulations for top story I like your point !!!

  • Loved the self portrait...great poem, happily subscribed. Congrats on your top story

  • Ameer Bibi30 days ago

    Congratulations for top story I like your point that darkness had to much for wisdom

  • Nice......https://vocal.media/families/good-friday-2024-when-is-good-friday-note-the-date-and-know-the-importance-of-this-day

  • Paul Stewart30 days ago

    Wow. I am glad this got made Top Story, congrats on that, because I've just subscribed. Love the image and your evocative words that just pull me in. Well done, Ashley!

  • Ashley Antunes (Author)about a month ago

    Self portrait, taken by me.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.