Poets logo

MurderVerse

Inspiration Ends

By David ParhamPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
MurderVerse
Photo by Mateus Campos Felipe on Unsplash

Start writing...Johnny ran low on inspiration a few days back

Tuesday

Yeah it was Tuesday, right after he saw Maxine

He hadn't written anything since last Tuesday

Not putting pen to paper was a source of guilt

like not doing his homework

Like forgetting to take out the garbage

But the meeting with Max bothered him

Something wasn't right with her

She didn't look healthy

Didn't sound healthy

She was depressed, defeated

Afraid to die.

***

I don't think too much about the next life.

Heaven

Hell

I'm not there yet

It's not my time

When I was a kid I worried constantly

About my grades

About whether or not my dad would come home mad

The schoolyard bully

There was always something to be a scared of

I hated being scared

Hated worry

I decided when I graduated high school I also graduated from being scared

What's that saying on all the t-shirts? No fear

That's right, no fear.

no fear, no worries

I told my old man I no longer worried about shit and he said good luck with that.

He died of cancer when he was 49 years old.

He never went to church a day in his life but when he was dying he tried reading the Bible

It put him to sleep

He tried praying

Very awkward, his communication skills

Finally, when no one was looking he died in his sleep

Everyone said what a saint he was

Why?

Because he suddenly got interested in religion

I refuse to go through life being afraid of what's next

***

I thought of Max, her being scared and all

She was fearless in her day

She was one not to give a care

She did some amazing things

Pulled some grandiose stunts

Most before my time

Now she was scared

She wanted forgiveness

She was seeing her Priest three times a week

Heaven only knows what she was telling him

Their meeting had troubled him for some reason

Something wasn't right.

fact or fictionheartbreakperformance poetrysad poetrysocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

David Parham

Writer, Filmmaker, Digital artist.

The ever Changing Complexities of Life, Fear, Mysteries and Capturing that which may not be there Tomorrow.

Complex, Change, Fear, Mystery, Tomorrow & Capture. Six reasons I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.