Poets logo

MurderVerse

Into a Routine

By David ParhamPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
MurderVerse
Photo by Nicolas Gras on Unsplash

Gina and I never talked about the business with Martin

She never asked

I never volunteered any details

She knows what I am capable of

What I do when necessary

We went about our lives without talking about Martin

And Martin never came around or called again

The dadmobile was visibly absent

Goodnight to all that.

But where do we go from here?

I'm wondering if I'm going to be part of her life

Included in family-like activities, not just hired muscle

I want to be included

I'll sleep on your couch tonight

If I can end up in your bed tomorrow?

I do have a strong physical attraction

Do you feel the same?

Gina was hard to read

Some days she wanted me around

She almost begged me to stay over

On other days I was invisible

The week I had out-of-town business

She blew up my phone

I miss you

Where are you

So I said, "I don't know, Gina, where are we?"

Her response: "What do you mean?"

I told her, some days I feel like your boyfriend other days

Not so much

Johnny, you saved me, I need you around will you be home

Soon

Tomorrow night, babe

Can't wait sweetheart

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

David Parham

Writer, Filmmaker, Digital artist.

The ever Changing Complexities of Life, Fear, Mysteries and Capturing that which may not be there Tomorrow.

Complex, Change, Fear, Mystery, Tomorrow & Capture. Six reasons I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.