Poets logo

Mundane Simplicity

That gives me great joy

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a month ago 2 min read
4
Image courtesy of Pixabay

This poem has been written as part of Sahil Patel's Lifeline's (Medium) poetry prompts.

Today's prompt is: I invite you to reflect on the simple yet profound aspects of your life that you may take for granted. It can be a warm cup of tea, a comfortable cosy blanket, a favourite book or a gentle breeze. I want you to write an ode to one of these simple joys in your life. Let your words celebrate the beauty and significance of the seemingly mundane, reminding us all to cherish the little moments that bring us happiness and contentment.

Mundane Simplicity

That gives me great joy

It is the mundane simplicity of life that brings the greatest joy to my world,

The simplistic nature that I once took for granted,

Such things as a cool breeze on sweaty skin,

The smell of rain on parched earth,

The laughter of my precious child,

Or the soft fur that tickles my skin as my adorable cat cuddles next to me.

**

But my all time favourite mundane simplicity that colours my world,

Is the joyous occasion when I wake on a cold winter morning,

With the understanding that not only is it the weekend,

But that it's a day off, a day to leisurely relax back under the covers,

To doze for another minute or two.

**

I creep down under my cozy blanket,

Wrapped within the trapped warmth that softly caresses my skin,

And I stretch luxuriously in delight,

Content to wake slowly, leisurely, with not a care in the world.

**

I listen to the silent house, comforted,

Taking note of the soft plume of the mattress on which I rest,

The familiar smell of the morning scent of my bedroom,

And the purr of my cat dozing by my side,

Her warmth mingling with mine.

**

My thoughts ponder the plans of the day, if any,

And I begin to imagine the taste of my first morning coffee,

I swear I can smell the aromatic brew,

Long before it is made, simply by anticipation,

The scent of crushed coffee beans instilled within my memories.

**

Only after I have thoroughly immersed myself in this weekend morning ritual,

Do I consider opening my eyes and greeting the day,

Slowly rising from the warmth of my nightly nest,

To brew that morning cuppa with which I wistfully long.

**

This small special mundane simplicity of life,

Echoes the joy through which I take immense delight,

That perfects my world for those few precious minutes,

On a cold winter morning,

Before the intrusion of all else can infringe upon my day.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

GratitudeFree Verse
4

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran29 days ago

    Mmmm, that first morning coffee. That was my favourite! Loved your poem!

  • Grz Colm30 days ago

    Savour it all! A terrific reminder of simplicity and mindfulness. ☺️👏

  • ROCK 30 days ago

    It's Friday, hopefully your cosy time is coming up soon! Beautiful, appreciated prose.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.