Poets logo

Mum

It is time to say goodbye

By Annette FriarPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Mum
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Don't believe when they tell you,

I never cared.

I desperately wanted to feel your hugs, to hear the pride in your voice

But it never came.

I worked hard to please you, in every waking moment to make it easy for you to love me.

The competition was way too great, I didn't stand a chance.

I saw how much a victim you also were trying to please the next in line.

These are the black sheep , the ones who feed the waiting desperate with lies. They know they'll absorb to stay in the circle. The scapegoats thrown to the wolves.

I do not care what the world thinks I am.

I do not care if the lies are believed.

My soul is true, my intentions are white. I stayed away to protect my truth, to love my family but my heart forgave. My love remained.

You can let go of the guilt, the pain and the heartache.

Victims are not to blame. My love is pure. x

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Annette Friar

I have come late to writing as I've had lots to do and no time to do it!

It's my time now so please be patient as I intend to practise, practise and practise......

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.