Poets logo

Multicultural

A Little Bit of Both

By Alexandria AfanadorPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Slanty eyes do not call for epithets of “chink” and “oriental;”

My abacus does not function under slanted bigotry.

Deep ochre colored, almond shaped eyes fail to see

Past racial slurs from mouths of American citizens

These ‘other’ American citizens

Believe in a different constitution than I clearly do.

My body is no rug for you

Do not rest your perfectly polished and primped toes on me.

“Math tutor,” does not describe my work ethic or qualifications in life,

Nor am I someone who is cool and calculated,

Raging fire, and a woman of desire:

These are nouns and adjectives that may describe my being.

The draw of my full lips when I curse and yell into storms of misogyny

Curl into an accent you think you're familiar with.

Pero mi sangre (But my blood) is filled with heat

And sweat of ancestors brimming with determination.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.