Poets logo

Muhahaha

Enter If You Dare

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Muhahaha
Photo by Jackson Simmer on Unsplash

A shallow breath escapes me,

I pull the shades and lock the doors.

Outside the dogs are howling, there’s something creaking cross’ the floor.

The faintest sense of doom, now fills my heart and shakes my will-

It began the day I settled into my home - in Amityville.

The pictures on the walls, seem to watch me walk the halls.

There’s a pounding in the cellar, leaving new terror in my scull.

The shadows all have footsteps and the rugs have begun to crawl.

It’s getting doubtful that I’ll see the sun come up, at all.

Dark circles orbit round my eyes - like the planets in the sky.

I’ve been told that I was doomed to die - while I was sleeping - by a fly.

It buzzed and buzzed and filled the room with hundreds of its kind,

and left its worst intentions on the bathroom mirror behind.

I’ve never heard such awful things and I don’t want to hear no more.

The ticking clock reminds me, what October nights are for.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Gideon 6ix2 years ago

    Perfectly descriptive, I enjoyed all the goosebumps, thank you for sharing!

  • Delightfully dark... Perfect for the season.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fabulous Halloween poem!!!💖💕

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    This was fantastically creepy!! Great work

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Wow. This is creepy and fabulous. Well done.

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    Amityville Horror! This is a truly creepy poem that made my skin crawl. 🪰

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.