Poets logo

Muddy Waters

A poem about grief

By Rambler's SocietyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Muddy Waters
Photo by Krystian Piątek on Unsplash

Slow footsteps

stuck with all of the muddy water in this foggy swamp.

I can't see the end of this path, or what is left of it.

Each slosh of a step harder than the last

I know it'll get better, but when?

You're gone and I need answers.

The frustration easily gets to me, pulling my foot up with every step only to lose my shoe halfway through.

No one can prepare you for the struggles of dreading through the swamp but now you're here, and you have to sink or swim.

As I continue on my way, the swamp shallows, and I can finally rest my sore soles.

It's not forever, I'll stumble and fall but I'll never stop.

I won't be held down by your past or by my heedless behavior.

One step at a time, I'll find my way, but in the meantime I hope you're treading through this muddy water with me.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rambler's Society

Hello everyone! I write fictional surreal stories and poems. I love writing and I hope that you enjoy reading what I've to offer. I have plenty more written down on my website so I'd love it if you'd go check it out!

ramblersociety.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.