Poets logo

Mountain Flute

To play for no one.

By Lucy RichardsonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Not my photo, but I've been to Blue Ridge too.

Someone else's home, someone else's dream,

Someone else's books, and someone else's land,

Who would know more of the trees and stream,

Who knew the mountain well and could understand.

But I was a foreigner in an ancient place,

A land not at all strange to this life,

But still felt like an alien space,

Bewitching beauty to hide past strife.

I don't belong in this place anymore,

I don't know the ways and sounds,

I don't have life left to explore,

I don't know why the fog confounds.

But a Blue morning settles a burdened heart.

Opens lungs so a broken flute may finally start.

Context: One cool morning I stepped out of our rental space in the Blue Ridge mountains, only birds chirping and branches rustling. I practiced my flute, for a moment worries went away, all of the trauma of life disappeared. I played the best I ever had. I hope you all can play your own flute of life, despite the blue.

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Lucy Richardson

I'm a new writer who enjoys fiction writing, personal narratives, and occasionally political deep dives. Help support my work and remember, you can't be neutral on a moving train.

https://twitter.com/penname_42

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.