Poets logo

Motivation

Motivation for College

By Janetta PoitraPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Alarm clock screams 7:15

Time to get up and get the day started

Wake up my oldest for school

And stumble to the bathroom

Bottle in hand

While the water warms I check and see

That its negative ten degrees outside

Better dress us warm

I make the bottle and stumble back to the bedroom

The baby is now awake

So, I wake up her dad

And walk to get ready

I can’t believe it’s already 7:30

I throw on some clothes and get the oldest to the bus

Just in time

We say our goodbyes

I check the time again

It’s now 8’oclock

The bus was late

Once again

I grab some clean clothes and change

Make sure I have everything for the day ahead

And throw on some winter clothes on top

Of everything else

Headphones in and check the clock one last time

It says 8:15 AM

And out I go

The winter wonderland surrounds me

My face already feels the nip of the air

I start walking, stumbling, falling

I push on, I need this for me

My eyes water, and stick

I force them open so I can see

I think of my kids

I do this for them

I push on more

I am so cold now

I start to see my destination

And push on even harder

And think about being warm

To not feel the pain in my legs

Finally, I make it

If you think college is out of reach

Think again

I do whatever I can

To push myself

I do what needs to get done

With little to no sleep

And helping hands

I show up

Hours early

I visit the free tutor center on the daily

It’s the only place I can be

To do my leftover homework from the night before

Without my baby

I check my grades

As and Bs

I got this

And so do you

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Janetta Poitra

Send feedback and to find out more when I'm going to post visit my Facebook group

"Janetta's Vocal Group" or by this link: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1966381050271768/

or my twitter

https://twitter.com/xxxxxbattsxxxxx

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.