Poets logo

Moths of Summer

Lonesome Days In A World Apart

By Neil HeddingsPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

Like Biggie

(Smalls)

Sewing alligators on his shirts,

Crocodiles,

I got a baby lizard

On my collar, and

Spiders on my

Window sill.

Like Kurt Cobain

They've all become my pets.

Soon the weather’s gonna change

Outside my same window

Bringing whispers of a chill.

The skys still blue

With smoke trails from the jets

Polluting us on by.

Winter will pay us

It's visit yet.

And take away with it

It's flies and the

Moth's of summer.

What then will I

Feed my pets?

Will they too go away?

Will they then

Someday

Come back again?

They are free to go

And come as they please.

The bars of my cell

Weren't made to

Contain these

Just me.

Like Johnny Cash

I'll sing

Those prison blues.

inspirationalsocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

Neil Heddings

Star I write so I can learn to live with who I am without destroying myself as punishment. Learn to love yourself if you ever hope to love at all.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.