Poets logo

Mothers

The Immeasurable Comfort

By Roberta DeAndradePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Mothers
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Simplicity holds the key

A blanket that engulfs my young body simulates soft clouds upon my skin

A gentle hand with fingers that interlace the strands of my long locks

A sacred holding, a safety that resonates with my spirit

My mothers lap smells of home

I lay my head down on the pillow and I breath deep

I relax into it, a sense of peace unlike any other

Suddenly winds swirl faster as I step into my older version, time does not exist.

The crisp sound of the fire warms my soul and I breath deep

I am still engulfed in a blanket of comfort

Now, it somehow feels different, but the same

For it is my own creation. I alone weaved it

My hands slowly glide down the fur of my friend, my joy

Adoring eyes meet mine as she lays upon the pillow on my lap

Her sense of safety brings me peace

A remembrance of my childhood, a joy and love known well to my senses

Where no time has passed

Still, I am home.

inspirational

About the Creator

Roberta DeAndrade

Just a lifelong avid reader and writer with awesome experiences hoping to share my thoughts, feelings, insights and creative voice. Taking it one moment at a time.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Roberta DeAndradeWritten by Roberta DeAndrade

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.