Poets logo

Motherly Love is Apparent

My Reality

By Lizz ChambersPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
4
Motherly Love is Apparent
Photo by Phil Hearing on Unsplash

My Mother has no heart.

And don’t ever try to convince me that

Her loving and compassionate nature is genuine

Because

I know the real person beneath the façade.

I have to admit that

It hurts to see what the world refuses to see

Because when you really take a closer look

And

When every bit of the pretense is stripped away

There is absolutely nothing left

Because

My Mother only pretends to care

You will never in this lifetime convince me that

Motherly love is apparent in all that she does.

Free Verse
4

About the Creator

Lizz Chambers

I began writing business articles as the Vice President of a hotel management company and found that I was good at it. I want to grow as a fiction writer, and Vocal can help me in that pursuit.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Tina D'Angelo3 months ago

    Wow, I can identify with this. Both ways. From the generation of "Don't embarrass us with your mistakes." To, "I finally understand why you chose what you did." She confuses me with every contact, so they are few and far between.

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Wow! Beautifully done and I guess we get to pick the version we see....

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Beautifully done both ways Lizz.

  • Linda Bromley3 months ago

    Woooow! THATS awesome. And I relate to the top to bottom part

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.