Poets logo

Mother Shroud

"The lights fade..."

By Kourtney RisherPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like
Embrace of Shadows by deathlotus

The lights fade, hiding the cracks and lines on my face.

No longer do I have to close my eyes to block out the gazing souls,

For they know too much and their voices make me want to scream

The stillness in shadow soothes me.

My shadow hugs me and tells me everything will be alright.

The silence sings me lullabies until I sleep and find peace.

Light gives me nightmares.

Bulbs blind me while staring at this hideous thing you call my pale visage.

Insecurities seep through the cracks of my dry and lifeless skin.

Then the skins peel away, leaving me naked while the world cackles at me

Light is an intruder breaking into my home and stealing my peace of mind.

The shadows wrap me in a cocoon and heal my wounds.

The shroud kisses me and holds me tightly.

The shroud loves me. The shroud is mother.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kourtney Risher

I'm a poet and an aspiring novelist from El Dorado, AR.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.