Poets logo

Mother, may I?

I

By Yazs glasgowPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Black Baby (1)

Mother, may I Write You a letter in case I get shot?

I want you to read this After your shock

or beforeYou ring the gong.

Mother, may I write You a letter in case I get shot?

I didn't mean for it to happen.

I was following your directions.

I always think my mama told me to get home.

But in case I don't, may I write the ending

of This plot?

I know I'm just beginning but

Knowing the ending means

Building a middle with NO REGRETS.

So I ask Mother may I write you a letter?

excerptsartHistoryMixed MediaIllustrationExhibition

About the Creator

Yazs glasgow

Black fem artist passionate about the History, politics, cultural values, and visuals of America's Black and brown community. Work is abstract with an undercurrent of political themes central to themselves & black/brown cultural History.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Yazs glasgowWritten by Yazs glasgow

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.