Poets logo

Mother India moans

Painting her colours of pride

By Louise SymonsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Mother India moans
Photo by Prachi Palwe on Unsplash

My hand hovers over my colours, they are as sweet as lollies to me,

so delicious I want to eat them, but they have something for you to see.

A palette of pieces of pastels, a colour range so divine,

beckoning me to create form, something that is mine.

My hand moves with my vision, of the brightest India I can see,

Bharat not ravaged and torn, with a plague they cannot flee.

Cotton coloured sarees, cobalt skies and painted joy,

I paint a beaming smile on the face of a small boy.

We hear your cries across the shores and feel your beating breaking heart,

I reach for blue, for pink, for red and paint a brand new start.

Mother India we hear you, your loud moans across the sea,

So I will paint your colours on again, as you used to be.

This germ will not defeat you, the colours tell me so,

Hold on, hold tight and pray, a time will come for it to go.

Touching up my edges, some shading here and there,

Behold you are a vision, a country without a care.

By Lou Symons

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Louise Symons

My name is Lou Symons and I live in Queensland, Australia with my family and fur balls. I'm a relief teacher and an online-tutor and love every minute of it. Art, food, music and animals speak to my soul and a chance to write! Here goes...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.