Poets logo

Mosaic

The Makings of Me

By Shannon MeyersPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Mosaic
Photo by Nicolas HIPPERT on Unsplash

The reality is that my rigidness

Is cause for most of my cracks

My unwillingness to bend

Until even living

Grows too much to bear

So I break

How many times will I

Try to connect the pieces

Before I become more flexible

Am I only doomed

To pour my contents over the flames

And mold myself anew.

To be left with a murky mess

And somehow call it existing.

The first time I shattered

I reached down

My fingers ran against the shards

Searching for the rose-colored pieces

But they were missing.

So instead, I collected

Pieces from others along the way

And connected them to the shell that remained.

And as it were their shiny parts

Stood out against the gray and dust-covered dirty parts.

Until I couldn’t recognize

What it was I had become.

If only I could return

The borrowed pieces

So as not to damage them

And grind what is left

Into a fine powder,

Sweep it into the sea

Scattered and forgotten

At the bottom of the ocean.

Would that give me peace?

And so it went

Until I could no longer stand

Looking at an unfamiliar reflection

So I broke once more

And laid all of myself before my eyes

Separating my parts from theirs.

I washed and scrubbed

The dirt and filth from my shards

Until they shone like the others

And even found some original ones

Along the way.

I sifted through the pieces

From my companions

And chose the ones that matched me best

And when I was ready

I kindled the fire once again.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Shannon Meyers

Shannon is a full-time freelance writer and indie author based out of San Diego, CA. From blog posts designed to stimulate the mind to captivating fantasy stories, her writing is diverse and crafted to be engaging and authentic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.