Poets logo

Morning

The view from my bed

By Phyllis Sosa LourencoPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

The light gently pierces through the curtains.

The sky is crying soft tears.

Beauty is silently waiting with her violent kiss.

Something is coming and I’m not ready for it.

I was so restless last night.

Sleep didn’t invite itself in.

Shadows were dancing across my window.

Why couldn’t I sleep?

Why did my body felt empty?

The light gently pierces through the curtains.

Look at that little joy creeping in.

Where did it suddenly came from?

Did I leave any clues behind?

Joy wanted to sleep with me but I wasn’t tired.

Curiosity kept me awake.

I needed something from this day.

I needed to know that the possibilities were real.

Something had to change.

I needed to change.

The light gently pierces through the curtains.

The sky stopped crying.

Beauty is not waiting anymore.

She came in with joy.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.