Poets logo

More Than the Average Shitty Love Poem

A Poem

By T.J. King KingPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Some say there is no love stronger than that of a parent

In some cases that may even be true

In an ideal world that would always be true

But this is not an ideal world

This world is full of people

Humans

Just average people like you and me

Full of human emotions

Human capabilities

Human limitations

And human mistakes

And I can’t claim to understand why the world is the way it is

Because I don’t understand

All I can say is the world is full of perfectly imperfect humans

God, I hate people

But… I love them

The world is a cruel place

Or it can be

But why are we as a people stuck in the dark

If we just look up we can find the light

Even in the darkest of nights the stars still shine

The moon still smiles down on me and all of my fellow people

It’s a beautiful world

I could write poems upon poems

Just to describe the vastness of its magnificence

But this isn’t about the earth’s beauty

This is about love

Everyone needs love

But not everyone gets love

Take me for example

I only learned to know love through its absence

No love stronger than that of a parent

But that is the love I myself missed out on most of all

I was never shown how to show love

I was shown how not to

So maybe the ones like you and me

Broken humans in a perfectly imperfect world

Maybe we will be the ones

Who will show the strongest love of all

Please stop yelling at me

Love is soft spoken

Please stop leaving me behind

If you love someone stay, even when it’s hard

If you see them flinch, move slower

If you see them hesitate, slow down

If you see them cry, hold them

If they feel like nobody cares, show them

Love can be beautiful

Love can be pure

In a dark and lonely world, love can be the light

But we as a people have show it

Show love

Even if it’s hard

Even if it’s scary

I turn on the news

And all I see is hate and fear

Broadcast across the nation

Spread through the entire country

The entire continent

The entire world

But what about love?

What if we stopped focusing on all the hate?

What if there were more acts of kindness to show?

That would spread the love and let everybody know

That it’s time for us as a people to stop pretending

The Reign of Hate and Fear is ending

There is so much more to life than all of this

And if we all showed more love

Well, that’d be bliss

We are broken humans in a perfectly imperfect world

So maybe its time we let the message of love be heard

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.