Poets logo

Moonlight

The Feeling of Abandon

By Haggar BenPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
3
Moonlight
Photo by Adrian Regeci on Unsplash

He held, in his arms, the crescent moon.

Half hidden behind a berry bush -

Throwing timid glances

As he held a deathly grip onto the glowing object.

His round pallid face was gentle to the gaze.

I ushered him forward – encouraging.

The crescent shape within his arms illuminated our surroundings.

There was no light from above –

Nothing – an utter void of nothingness – casting from below.

His footsteps were soundless.

Where they even touching the earth ground beneath

– or was he hovering?

A tree branch snapped.

I turned around, sensing another’s presence.

Someone else was hiding – rustling the bushes.

Darkness enveloped us.

The moonlight was gone.

I veered back, searching for him.

Squinting in the dark, I couldn’t make out his shape anywhere nearby.

He had left – and took the moon with him.

The earth beneath my feet rumbled and shook.

Like the crescent moon, I was left incomplete.

The comforting glow of light was no more –

as the dirt swallowed me whole,

leaving me alone

with nothing else to grasp onto -

for solace.

surreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessheartbreakGratitudeFriendshipFree Verse
3

About the Creator

Haggar Ben

I love to dream and let my mind drift off into new worlds and characters.

With the use of this platform, I plan to practice the gift and artform of storytelling.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.