Poets logo

Monday Mornings

Sigh

By SumayaPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Like
Monday Mornings
Photo by Vlad Tchompalov on Unsplash

Happy Monday,

Today didn’t begin the way I had hoped.

I felt terribly ill and out of breath when I woke up, which was very different from how I usually start my Mondays. I had to decide to call in sick to work despite how much I wanted to push through. I was so consumed with remorse and the sense of having let everyone down that I was unable to move past it.

But I felt in my heart that I had made the correct choice by putting my health first. I want to contribute 100% of myself to my work, not simply 40%. I now realise that the first step to being able to offer my all is taking care of myself. Learning to prioritise my needs is a difficult lesson, but I’m gradually accepting it.

So here I am, sipping a hot cup of camomile tea while wrapped in blankets, promising myself that I will concentrate on getting better.

My wellbeing cannot wait while my to-do list can.

Let’s hope for a quick recovery and a quick return to my normally active self.

Here’s a reminder to you:

We frequently put ourselves last on the list of priorities in favour of meeting deadlines, pleasing others, and carrying out our responsibilities. But in the end, we really only have ourselves to rely on.

Our most valuable possessions are our bodies, minds, and spirits.

Keep in mind that taking care of yourself is not selfish, it is a basic necessity.

Take care of your physical and emotional health, follow your passions, and value time for introspection.

When you put your well-being first, you not only create a happier, healthier you, but also establish the groundwork for a life that is more rewarding.

Wishing you a joyful start to the new week, lovely souls!

:)

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sumaya

Step into a realm of inspiration—where resilience, unwavering passion, and the joy of lifelong learning intertwine. Join my journey, fueled by a passion for writing and reading, as we embrace uncertainty, spark growth, and redefine success.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.