Poets logo

“Momma”, You Don't Have To Carry Me

Hold my hand, please

By Cathy DeslippePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
“Momma”, You  Don't Have To Carry Me
Photo by Jon Flobrant on Unsplash

We had to flee our home.

After we hid under a dome.

My Momma carried me.

To a land of safety.

The sounds still ring in my ears.

Bombs dropping ,brought us fears.

Yet my Momma, carried me for many a mile.

I can still see her look at me with her big bright smile.

I could tell she was short of breath,I know she needed a rest.

Yet Momma just kept going, she only wanted the best.

It took days to reach a border ,where we were free from war and fear.

I looked at my Momma,she had a gentle tear.

The people at the border gave us food and a place to rest.

I know my Momma saved me, for she is the very best.

My Nanna and Pappa came to take us to their home.

I told my Momma to take my hand, no more fear just beauty we will roam.

The home was filled with lots of love and joy.

My Nanna and Pappa even had a very special gift for me, a beautiful toy.

There were clothes for Momma and me to wear.

Warm baths and tender loving care.

The food on the table, my Momma at my side.

We got here together, even thou we had to hide.

Together we walked, enjoying the beautiful land.

Looking at the sunflowers, as Momma held my hand.

We were free from war and hate.

In our hearts we learned to appreciate.

What freedom was all about.

Kind words, no greed or need to shout.

Yet it was time to enjoy our lives, the best way we could.

With my Nanna and my Pappa, especially Momma too, we knew in our hearts we really,really would.

By Marko Blažević on Unsplash

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.