Poets logo

Momma, I sold my birthright

"I was a walking heartache" (Dave Barnes, 2010)

By Eddie HeathPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Momma, I sold my birthright
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Left home to manifest and birth my blessings

With a hard head and hard times comes many lessons

A few Angels occasionally interceded on my behalf

Reminisce now about those years shake my head and laugh

It didn't take long to see failure was imminent

Sold the one thing I had of value in a single incident

Won't bore with details of why that was a huge blunder

Miscalculation, oversight, erroneous bumbler

During one of several episodes of alcoholic discontent

Reached out to my family, word to my mother sent

Enlightened her of the aforementioned preposterous insolence

Expected prodigal son on the contrary was met with dissonance

Parting with your birthright looks different for everyone

Redemption is always possible so just hold on

It cannot be sold, not yours to begin with

You have title but no deed so selling is a myth

A loan against it on the other-hand can be short or long

If you find yourself in this position just stay strong

Your maturity date is coming so just hold on

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Eddie Heath

Amateur writer, Investor and Realtor

Eddieheath2.medium.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.