Poets logo

Moments in roads to articulation

words of breath

By JD GlasscockPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1

Short Film -- A Moment (New 10-20-11)

by Jd Glasscock on Thursday, October 20, 2011 at 11:50pm

A Moment

A Short Film

By

JD Glasscock

Ext -- Park -- Day

A young woman in a black dress sits on a bench in the middle of a park with a child's play ground in the distance, people jogging by and bike riders. People play frisbee in the background. She holds a photo in her hand and a cell phone to her ear, teary eyed.

Young Lady

I'm sorry, I couldn't. I didn't want to be, not the wake, not after the funeral . (Pause) I know, I know. I got to go.

She hangs up, looks around, tears coursing her cheeks. She looks down at her phone, then the photo, a picture of her and her mother, in her hand on her lap. She starts to cry hard.

Youjng Lady

I miss you so much. I wish you were here.

A little hand touches her knee. She looks up to see a small boy of about 5 with blond hair and clothes dirty like he had been playing, his face, a few smudges lining his rosey cheeks. He smiles at her. He hands her a daisy, one petal missing.

Little Boy

I picked that for you. My Mommy went to Heaven so I could be born, My Daddy told me. He said she smiles up there at me. Do you know smiles are a gift from Heaven? I'm gonna make the world a better place when I grow up so my Mommy can smile a lot.

He climbs her lap and puts one finger on the corner of each of her lips and pushes them into a smile. After a second he doesnt need to, she is smiling great by herself. He gets back down smiling cocking his head to one side as if to see the smile on her.

Little Boy

I knew there was a smile there.

His Daddy calls him in the distance.

Little Boy

I gots to go. Bye pretty lady.

The Little boy runs off like little boys do. SHe looks down at the daisy, one petal missing but still beautiful then at the photo of her and her momma. She wipes the one tear still left on her cheek smiling.

Young Lady

Thank you.

THE END



Bells rune the promise of our road

Poem by JD Glasscock

Sometimes in the slip of breath a dream takes to live...the moment is missed and the falling of flesh is an inevitable conclusion...I still remember her eyes..the way her hips swayed as she left....the moon was full in the sky and the breeze was gentle as soft jazz..my cave is an empty pocket in time with murals painting the story of a heart echoing eternity in the consistent thump of it's movement and in it's melancholy dirge to the symphony of fate woven to the threads of untimely surrender I realize....the depth and truth of my spirit's rise is in direct correlation to the steps I have trekked....I am who I have trailed into as a sculpture of what has come before..I can flit runes on parchment and carry the hip holster of smoking iron due to the ghost towns I have stumbled through...and in the closing realization of my aspirations digging roots into reality's tether I come to the beautiful blessed truth that all things hold reason and pattern within their bones..and it is within that architecture that we truly spread feathered wonder to the meat of our existence....I am humbled...I am breath...I am where my soul should rest.... till the precipice of death rides the premise of my promise and all things fade into a ethereal song of history and serendipity....hallow is the hell that forms the creation of our beauty...let the bell roll thunder in toll of my burgeoning awakening...let the price never be too high for freedom...

My Big Fat 70's Tie

Lyrics by JD Glasscock

I'm Kicking my morning ritual

stuck in my habitual

throwin on my bell bottom chords

My come hither snake slither smile of hit record rewards

and last but not least

rolling my big fat 70's tie

oh that's right

my big fat 70's tie

so bring on the honeys

Say bye bye to the uglies

and get ready for a disco dance move

a tabasco like it like it's hot groin groove

Cause I'm taking it to the avenues

my good news good g-news Gary G- new baby doll blues

Cause it's Joe Big Daddy Bones here on the radio play

and everyone knows I'm a sweet as sweet trick or treat train depot boquet

prepay to the soiree

So strap on your platforms ladies

my voice is your trance to the hey day

of the replay to the risque

It's Joe Big Daddy Bones who has the last say

so prepare the way

cause hear it, know it,

and if you don't like it, stow it

it's about to begin

I'm spitting sin like slow gin

and here we go

It's a trip heavy psychadelic spin top

to the merry go round be bop

of a legs wide, hip to hip shudder stop

Blow

Cutting it like Edgar Alan Poe

Let's start the show

I'm Kicking my morning ritual

stuck in my habitual

throwin on my bell bottom chords

My come hither snake slitherl smile of hit record rewards

and last but not least

rolling my big fat 70's tie

oh that's right

my big fat 70's tie

so bring on the honeys

Say bye bye to the uglies

and get ready for a disco dance move

a tabasco like it like it's hot groin groove

Cause I'm taking it to the avenues

my good news good g-news Gary G- new baby doll blues

Cause it's Joe Big Daddy Bones here on the radio play

and everyone knows I'm a sweet as sweet trick or treat train depot boquet

prepay to the soiree

So strap on your platforms ladies

my voice is your trance to the hey day

of the replay to the risque

It's Joe Big Daddy Bones who has the last say

so prepare the way

cause hear it, know it,

and if you don't like it, stow it

it's about to begin

I'm spitting sin like slow gin

and here we go

It's a trip heavy psychadelic spin top

to the merry go round be bop

of a legs wide, hip to hip shudder stop

Blow

Cutting it like Edgar Alan Poe

And that's it

time to flow

get off this shindig

get out my player's grin

and do my best Huckleberry Fin

Cause as you know!!!!

I'm Kicking my morning ritual

stuck in my habitual

throwin on my bell bottom chords

My come hither snake slither smile of hit record rewards

and last but not least

rolling my big fat 70's tie

oh that's right

my big fat 70's tie

Joe Big Daddy Bones

rolling a big fat 70's tie

bye bye

The Parchment of a lost memory

Poem by JD Glasscock

Ticking silence in the moans of destiny's arthritic hand cusped on the lip of a promise -- her curves were a river I tossed upon a dream.....and i wake upon a broken stream with the taste of a kiss wounding the last panting breath of my lips....so long ago the churning pitfall of my past....so many days dwindling back into the unmemorable shade carved in the pain I lashed upon the scars already imprinted within the wrinkles I have Rip Van Winkled upon the precipice of losing chest heaves....and she hid smiles in the lies that fell as jewels upon my perforated ears......hearing what i want to hear.....always the trip to tip a kick to the reverberating truth bouncing echos within skulls thickened in the heartache of want...and this jaunt many slipping days behind the curtain of promotional campaigns has lost all amusment in it's stumbling passage....has been striven of meaning or vision in the unbalanced jig it attempts to step through....and i rue and hold to bitter chords of moon lit lute strummed caterwhauls -- to all the people who have ridden me wrong, screeched a mournful off tone song, strung me a long......to you and you and you and you......who low throated blues in the merry mad dance I had started upon weaving a lunatic's loom into the threads that stitch me to forever snake bit tails in the kaledoscope of my no tread in place running of lonely haunts upon a skein of time, an ink blot in the fabric of neverending epiphony in the choke hold of screams.....and her curves that were a river I tossed upon a dream seems as empty as the people I see beggin upon the city streets....love - a wish i wish I would've never wished.....

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

JD Glasscock

J.D. Glasscock started as a slam poet on national teams in 1990. Written and Directed 16 Award winning short films...He also has 16 self published books of poetry, lyrics and film.

Owner of StormCrow Productions

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.