Poets logo

Modern Day Mayhem

After the Parade Ends

By El PoetPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3
Modern Day Mayhem
Photo by Unseen Histories on Unsplash

A million men marching

the feeling is stronger in him...

The sense of self, calmer,

it no longer seems so somber

when you dealing with this martyrdom.

I saw the divide and conquer come.

Isolated, I grew bonkers.

The tribe gave me a new monicker.

I'm N.I.C.E. now: Nonnegotiable Intelligence Caring Effortless.

That's R.I.G.H.T. about their Racial Insight is Go Hunt a Terrorist!

Flashbacks with my therapist,

left me with embarrassment.

What does a ferris wheel feel like?

I can't quite bare it or stomach the interrogating police statements

in the fairest nation, where we bury the sacred,

and call it vicarious victimization...

So I'm burning some sages,

meditating on my placement after this parade ends.

If love is in the air,

then I'm questioning the fragrance,

and still we wear a face mask

in this modern day mayhem.

I'm feeling like Neo,

the scrambled one in this matrix...

social commentary
3

About the Creator

El Poet

Subscribe, so I can provide something magical while striving to be autobiographical. For the life of me I shall not take a sabbatical. I'll keep writing these apical poems, as longs as it's fashionable to my passionate flow. Let's go!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.