Poets logo

Mixed Medium Project - Mask

Day 1 of a 30 Day Art and Poetry Challenge

By Victoria L-BPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image Credit: Therissa Shelburne

Death Mask

When you left us I was

too young to remember your

face.

The years passed like shifting sand

and I was able to

forget

you, even though you were in my heart and in my head.

When I heard you were gone

for good, I thought I

would

cry for you. That didn't happen.

Not when I saw your

face

frozen in an unrecognizable smile, more

happy in death that in

life.

------------

Creator's note:

For the first day of our challenge Theri and I were given the prompt mask. We have chosen to do our art separate from one another and then combine them at the end of the day. I find it interesting that we both went with rather somber representations of the idea of mask, even though we didn't really confer about our decisions.

All this to say- as we move forward our interpretations of our prompts may be more or less similar to one another. And that is the intent. I love the juxtaposition of interpretations, and I look forward to how far apart they may eventually be. I hope you'll enjoy the journey through this art challenge with us!

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Victoria L-B

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.