Poets logo

Misty Mountains

A High-Ku Haiku

By Natasja RosePublished about a year ago 1 min read
9
Misty Mountains
Photo by Vincent Guth on Unsplash

Dungeons and Caverns

Deep and old, shelter found - drat!

Now there are goblins...

By Lopez Robin on Unsplash

I had Tolkein on the brain, and a few hours left before the challenge closed. Deal with it!

Note for people struggling with the haiku count: Using apostrophes to cut out syllables might make you sound like Shakespeare, and possibly more than a little pretentious, but it's a valid and legitimate cheat.

Also, counting out on your fingers helps a lot.

(Particularly long note in order to hit the 100 minimum for poems)

If you liked this story, leave a heart, a reaction, a comment or a tip, and check out my other work either here on Vocal, or on Medium. Published works can be found on Amazon.

book reviewshow toinspirationalsurreal poetryvintage
9

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!!

  • Call Me Lesabout a year ago

    lol Drat! That made me chuckle.

  • SJ Coveyabout a year ago

    Love it 🥰❤️😍

  • Michael Darvallabout a year ago

    Well it gave me a giggle! Thanks.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.