Poets logo

Mississippi Mermaid

a poem

By Mark BurrPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Mississippi Mermaid
Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

There you are stammering stories, sipping Tom Collins, when you tell me your favorites begin with “The last time I went crazy…” And I’m flashing my driver’s license to every bartender on U-Street because they’ve never seen one from Mississippi and ask me if we have dirt roads or If I wear shoes or how I ended up there because no boats from Asia beach in the Gulf. And I know you were born into a family of trees but your father also counted fish with sound waves for the NRL and he was a sailor, like all men are sailors, so you think that you were really a mermaid swimming in the Mississippi Sound and only drowning men can see you—and I see you. You tell me you have some connection to the moon like the rhythms of the tide, like wolves, like whales, that you culled pink pearls out of oysters in Charleston, that your blood is half brine and that we were all born out of water first anyway: then you show me where to look between the ripples in the Potomac. On the metro, I fall over, but you’d rather trace words like chanterelle or Occidental with your tongue touching your teeth. You get off at Georgetown but I linger. The metro closes at ten, I don’t know that, so I flag a cab to Georgetown where your rent is so high you live in a room divided and curtained off by an American flag.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mark Burr

Mark Burr is a poet from Ocean Springs MS. He was last published in Prairie Schooner. He is currently working on a chapbook. He also writes short stories and takes cool pictures with his camera.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.