Poets logo

Missing Childhood

For the Abecedarian challenge

By Sandra MatosPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
2
Missing Childhood
Photo by Kristina Flour on Unsplash

After all the tears were dried, you were left to

become. In the middle of

chaos and calamity, wishes were thrown

down like they never were pretty.

Ever

Fault lines took up space on your face.

Guilty child! You

have to feel guilt!”

Innocence is for others.

Just be

Kind. Just behave

like nothing ever happened, like

maybe this is

normal.

Or,

perhaps you can pretend,

quietly that everything is

right and that you are righteous while you

swim in the sin,

that is owning you,

unrelenting in its lure. Until, you

venture

with eyes wide open. Conditions

xeric. Your eyes,

your skin, your soul, all

zealous for some dew.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Sandra Matos

I write so that people will remember me. I make art for the same reason. I had a mother that I never knew. Who she was, how she smelled, or what she valued. I don't want anyone to wonder who I was.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    This is so expressive and raw. I think my favourite bit is the opening, After all the tears were dried you were left to become... That will stay with me.

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Beautiful abecedarian!😍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.