Poets logo

Misplaced Youth

A Poem to take us from here to there and back again

By Judey Kalchik Published 3 months ago 1 min read
16
https://pixabay.com/users/anjagh-11388385/

I am young:

once again

waiting for time to expire

skipping and sleeping through our days

nothing can stop us

we can be anything

the sky is the limit

boundless opportunities

healthy and limber,

how we miss youth-

now that we are old.

~

Now that we are old

how we miss youth-

healthy and limber

boundless opportunities

the sky is the limit

we can be anything

nothing can stop us

skipping and sleeping through our days

waiting for time to expire

once again

I am young.

~

Using one Vocal Challenge to help me write another.

First Draft
16

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Love the clear structure of this, and the inverse message is a powerful one. This line in particular I like- “skipping and sleeping through our days”. Youth seems to be one of those things that we can never truly appreciate until we no longer have it!

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Oh the bones so love this story. Dibs on a Benjamin Button happening for us right now. Old to young, no one wants young to old, such a bummer. Great poetry.

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Oh, I just love this. Nicely done. 💗

  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    Holy hell Judey! This poem was so clever, I loved it!

  • Oh wow, this was executed so brilliantly! Loved your poem, both ways!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Judey, this is terrific. I love the positive feel I got out of reading this.

  • Doubly well-challenged, not to mention that I found both poems quite meaningful.

  • Anna 3 months ago

    This is so heartfelt!❤️ I love it!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Beautifully done.

  • Love the picture and the poem! This poem made me think of how many of us who are younger wish we could hurry up and grow up, and then when we get there, we wish we were young again.

  • Denise E Lindquist3 months ago

    Very Good!!😊💕

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    I was sold with just the picture, but the poem was so true and touching!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.