Poets logo

Mismatched Socks

Embrace Your Uniqueness

By Hannah StantonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Mismatched Socks
Photo by Nick Page on Unsplash

Looking down at my feet,

in blue and pink mismatched socks,

I am reminded of the fact

that beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.

That sometimes things that aren’t supposed

to work, or look good together, do.

Yes, I am reminded that it is a beautiful

thing to be different, to be open to

different opinions, experiences, and views.

To not surround yourself with sameness because

in doing so, you risk settlement rather than growth.

Looking down at my feet,

in red striped and green floral mismatched socks,

I am reminded that perfection is not attainable,

so, you might as well bask in the freedom that

that realization brings and eat fries dipped in ice-cream

or eggs and ketchup combined.

Yes, I am reminded that you should let go

of the notion that there is a “normal”

because it’s a myth and things are always changing.

Things that were once old are now new again

and the expectations of others will kill you,

because they don’t want you to win.

So, I will leave my group and join yours.

I will risk going against the “norm,”

because I wear my mismatched socks with pride

in this diverse world.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.