Poets logo

Mirror of Lies

Aging acceptance

By K. ShawPublished about a year ago 1 min read

As I gaze upon the mirror

I see a reflection of lies

Who is this person

Aged and flawed

No longer the girl I once was

Youthful and glowing

I gaze upon this self

And wonder where have I gone

This cannot be me

Who is this staring back

Has the time flown so quickly

Half my life passed by

In this mirror of lies

I close my eyes

Hoping the outcome will change

With much dismay

I gaze at the reflection

The image remained the same

I fear this mirrors’ deceit

Will only worsen as the years go by

Aging me more and more

As the clock ticks on

I realize the mirror of lies

Is telling the truth

surreal poetry

About the Creator

K. Shaw

My poetry and stories come from experience. Sometimes the only way to battle the darkness is to trap it on a page.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Damn that mirror! I have the same one, and it can be so cruel. Wonderful work expressing these emotions to clearly :)

K. ShawWritten by K. Shaw

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.