Poets logo

Mirror Mirror

The struggling flame

By MarissaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Mirror Mirror
Photo by arman khadangan on Unsplash

I’m tired of looking in the mirror and hating what i see, I’m tired of looking at a reflection of someone that isn’t me.

I’m tired of seeing a different me than what I see in my head, while I love my heart inside I wish this body were dead.

They say that beauty is found in the eyes of the beholder, but how come every time I look in the mirror my heart feels colder

How come I imagine myself as beauty and light but when I stare at my reflection I see dimness and fright.

Fear of every crossroad that may lie ahead, too much chaos to let too many of my tears shed.

A dull candle still struggling to keep a small flame, but inside my fire roars like the engine to a train.

I’m tired of seeing my beauty through the eyes of another soul, you see my bright and shining flame I see my ashes burnt like coal.

Im tired of having to squint to see the light at the end of every road, with every good thing I receive comes a debt that I now owe.

The good I give for free is given back to me with a price, I would give up my whole meal and in return get one slice.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.