Poets logo

Mine

MH

By Michael HartfieldPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I want my favorite songs back, quotes back, favorite books back, my time back, I want my heart back. I want to dye my hair and take hot showers to shed layers of skin that you have touched. I want the images of my naked body burned from your mind and I want my soul to be clean and my heart to feel pure. I want my innocence back, I want to rid these past few months of the black taint of love because I now know just how lethal it can be. I want to be free of these invisible chains that hang around my feet and my heart, I want to take back the careless control you have over my mind. I want to run far away and repair the cracks in my heart. I want to sweep up the pieces that I have to call myself and start over. I want all of my things back and if I had the chance I would never open my heart again because this pain is unavoidable and all consuming and I'm losing myself. I want my pride back and I swear I'll never let myself be vulnerable again. I want my things to be mine again.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.