Poets logo

Mind Your Matter

A Speculative Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
An AI Generated Image

Is your body something you have, or are?

Dualism has a long history;

Are you the driver of a fleshy car?

Or is mind body? A real mystery

Suppose the mind arises from the brain

Like steam, floating above a boiling pot;

Or a cloud releasing self-conscious rain

Epiphenomenalism can rot!

If brain is cause and conscious mind effect

Then matter is the parent of spirit

And the proud ship of dualism wrecked;

But what if mind is real, and brain knows it?

Then, like a radio, the brain receives

And of itself as instrument, conceives

Sonnet

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    My dad always said that we're all spiritual beings that are having a human experience. He also said that our body is merely a vehicle for us. Loved your poem!

  • Randy Baker4 months ago

    Now that I've looked up its meaning, I'm with you; epiphenomenalism can rot! I do not subscribe to dualism, but I do subscribe to you, which is why these nice poems keep showing up in my feed. Well done, thought-provoking piece!

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Deep thoughts by D.J. Excellent sonnet! I learned a new word. I’m no scholar, but have had experiences that prove to me it’s impossible for the soul/mind to be created at the same time as the body. In short, I’ve had OBE stemming from an accident when I was 15. I’m obviously not the first or last person to experience them. It hasn’t happened in a long time but can tell you that I I’ve seen my own body independent of where I perceived the location of my conscious mind to be and am still able to hold thoughts and memories of my waking life when it happens. I believe there is some kind of magnetic properties going on that keeps us incarnate. we have a brain and body to use but we are neither of them.

  • Gerard DiLeo4 months ago

    Epiphenomenalism, and I radiate at 98.6ºF. Great sonnet. I'd say you read my mind, but something keeps jamming me.

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    And I thought that I was introspective today! This blew my mind/brain - whatever. I had to look up epiphenomenalism - it may be the longest word I've ever seen on Vocal. I like this - I'll be mulling over this now whilst I iron.

D. J. ReddallWritten by D. J. Reddall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.