Poets logo

Mind Over Matter

Random night lyrics screaming at the mouse running about my mind and reliving poor decisions it caused

By Seth CarterPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 2 min read
1
Mind Over Matter
Photo by petr sidorov on Unsplash

So something about me and how I write is that it only happens sporadically and when it does, it all comes out at once. These poems just seem to spill out of me quickly within a couple minutes and I usually make very few edits. I don't force myself to write (probably why I never get better haha!) and I try not to change or edit what falls onto the page unless it's a spelling or syllable errors. It surprises me how it seems to come out in correct rhythem and rhyme. Many times as song lyrics. Anyway.. this spilled out of me one night in 2015 when I was lost in thought dwelling on that familiar arch enemy of mine... my mental addiction that creeps around and never leaves me.

“Mind Over Matter”

Felling strong but losing will

I once thought it met it end

But I am two sided still

Now it’s right around the bend

It creeps up unexpectedly

Like a drug it digs its claws

Blurring all that’s around me

Suddenly I’ve hit the wall

Chorus:

Fallen angel with remorse

All this guilt just makes it worse

Try to run, try to hide

Never feeling satisfied

But this is not what you think

Yet to find my missing link

I’ll just laugh it all away

‘Cause I know it’s here to stay

This is mind over matter

Mind over matter

Parasitic mind eraser

Seduce my hidden desires

Hurry do your dirty deeds

Add more wood to the fire

Let the blaze overtake me

And as I drown in sin

I remember every burn

I pray for healing within

Chorus:

Fallen angel with remorse

All this guilt just makes it worse

Try to run, try to hide

Never feeling satisfied

But this is not what you think

Yet to find my missing link

I’ll just laugh it all away

‘Cause I know it’s here to stay

This is mind over matter

Mind over matter

So did you make it better?

I now see you made it worse

Can’t put the pieces together

Find the purpose through this hurt

This is mind over matter

(This is never getting better)

This is mind over matter

(God help me to lose this sin)

This is mind over matter

(Maybe this time I will win)

This is mind over matter

Need to find the strength within.

Mind over matter.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Seth Carter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    I'm the same as you, I don't force myself to write. Your lyrics were awesomeeee!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.